Penguin Classics series gets an ‘A’

If you count books, typography and collections among your most intense obsessions, then hang onto your serifs! Today, Penguin Classics is releasing the first six volumes of its new Penguin Drop Caps series of hardcover classics:

A Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice,
B Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre,
C Willa Cather’s My Antonia,
D Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations,
E George Eliot’s Middlemarch, and
F Gustave Flaubert’s Madame Bovary.

(Madame Bovary is a reprinting of the highly regarded Lydia Davis translation of Madame Bovary that Penguin published under its Viking imprint in 2010.

A “drop cap” is that oversized letter you sometimes see at the beginning of books and magazine articles. The Drop Cap covers — each with a single, elegantly designed letter — are a collaboration between illustrator/type designer Jessica Hische and Penguin art director Paul Buckley. (You may not know Hische’s name, but you know her work: the opening titles of Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom, the hardcover edition of Dave Eggers’ A Hologram for the King, and the Barnes & Noble Classics series.)

Penguin says there will be 26 volumes of the series in all. Good luck with X!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s